Finally Fall Book Tag 🍂

In fall, the air is crisp and clear.

Name a book with a vivid setting: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

All of these books have an incredible world and setting. But I really love this one. First, you get to see the mines where the Reds live, which have an amazing and rich history of their own. But you also get to see the Golds’ Academy, and Pierce did an incredible job of somehow making it sound idealistic and beautiful while also being dark and gritty at the same time. This is my favorite book for a very good reason.

Nature is beautiful… but also dying.

Name a book that is beautifully written, but also deals with a heavy topic like loss or grief: The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

Oh, I love this book. I just read it recently, but it’s already one of my favorites ever. Brandon Sanderson’s books are some of my favorites; I already knew that from reading his Mistborn trilogy before I picked up Stormlight Archive. But oh man… This book is gorgeous. It’s exciting and beautifully-written. You can tell that Brandon truly loves this world he has created, and his writing reflects that. Plus, this book deals with a lot of heavy topics, as most of the characters are struggling with their mental health in some way. I think it’s dealt with wonderfully, and I just love this book with all of my heart.

Fall is back to school season.

Share a non-fiction book that taught you something new: The Witch’s Book of Self-Care by Arin Murphy-Hiscock

Does this count? To me, it does. But I really enjoyed this book. I felt like more than anything, I gained a lot from the sections that covered things like journaling. Even months later, I still try to use the journal prompts it recommended to keep me positive, and it’s very helpful for my mental health!

In order to keep warm, it’s good to spend some time with the people we love.

Name a fictional family/household/friend-group that you’d like to be a part of: The Inner Circle from A Court of Mist & Fury by Sarah J. Maas

The Inner Circle from A Court of Mist & Fury is probably my absolute favorite instance of found family in any book I have ever read. I love their dynamic. They tease each other, they give each other shit, but they would also do absolutely anything for each other. It’s so heartwarming to see their interactions, and it makes me so happy every time I read this series.

The colourful leaves are piling up on the ground.

Show us a pile of fall-colored spines!

Okay, so… I mostly only have Sarah J. Maas books. Quite frankly, I am running out of book room, but I did the best I could with what I had. I actually love these colors; they’re all the colors of fall leaves!

Fall is the perfect time for some storytelling by the fireside.

Share a book wherein somebody is telling a story: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

I think this is kind of cheating, but each of the books in the Mistborn trilogy have epigraphs at the start of each chapter in which someone is telling their story. The epigraphs are one of my favorite parts of the story. Brandon gives you the chance to figure out where the story is going yourself through these little diary excerpts, and you will absolutely be kicking yourself later for all the obvious things you missed. It’s truly a joy. Brandon’s epigraphs are one of my absolute favorite things about his books.

The nights are getting darker.

Share a dark, creepy read: Verity by Colleen Hoover

This book was weird. I still do not know what to make of it, even months after I read it. It’s genuinely one of the creepiest books I’ve ever read. If you pick this up, I just want to tell you, you are not going to predict what’s going to happen, trust me lol. It’s a whirlwind the whole way through.

The days are getting colder.

Name a short, heartwarming read that could warm up somebody’s cold and rainy day: The Travelling Cat Chronicles by Hiro Arikawa

Okay, this is cheating. I have not read this. But from what I do know of it, it is absolutely going to make me cry. I have heard that it makes a lot of people very, very emotional. It is probably going to break my heart, but hopefully (?) it’ll be heartwarming too! I definitely want to pick it up during the cold and rainy days to come!

Fall (luckily, it’s my favourite season) returns every year.

Name an old favourite that you’d like to return to soon: House of Earth & Blood by Sarah J. Maas

If you’ve been following me for any amount of time, you probably know that Sarah J. Maas is my favorite author! I re-read both of her series within the past year or so, but I haven’t had a chance to read House of Earth and Blood for the second time. I’d love to pick it up this autumn, because I think it would be a great cozy read!

Leave a comment